Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Psychotic Reaction Classic 1991 Broadcast CD


In 1991, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers reunited, with Lynne at the helm again, to record a new album. The result was Into The Great Wide Open, which was warmly received by critics, some of whom claimed that it rivaled anything in their back catalogue. The lead single, 'Learning To Fly', held the top spot for six weeks and 'Out In The Cold' also reached No. 1. The title track, which peaked at No. 4, was notable for its star-studded music video, which featured Johnny Depp, Faye Dunaway, Terence Trent D'Arby and Matt Le Blanc, alongside the band. To capitalise on this latest success, Tom and band hit the road to play 48 dates around North America. On 24th November 1991, the group performed at the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in California, a show which was the subject of an FM radio broadcast, transmitted live across the state, and which is now presented on this CD in its completion. Released here for the first time and in exceptional audio quality, the band play largely material from Full Moon Fever and Into The Great Wide Open, including all five of Petty's recent No. 1 hits, plus a decent selection of covers, not least of which is a dynamic version of the old Count Five garage classic which gives this CD its title.

Track Listing

  1. King's Highway
  2. Too Good To Be True
  3. I Won't Back Down
  4. Free Fallin'
  5. Out In The Cold
  6. Psychotic Reaction
  7. Ben's Boogie
  8. Learning To Fly
  9. Here Comes My Girl
  10. Into The Great Wide Open
  11. I'm Tired Joey Boy
  12. Yer So Bad
  13. Refugee
  14. Runnin' Down A Dream
  15. Lonely Weekends
  16. Makin' Some Noise

Release Date 06.09.17