Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Vol 2 - Greek Theatre 8.5.1990 (2 CDs)

GarciaLive Volume Two captures the classic latter-era lineup of the Jerry Garcia Band in the very familiar surroundings of the Greek Theatre in Berkeley, CA. Recorded during a fruitful period for the band, which has resulted in two previous releases (Jerry Garcia Band and How Sweet It Is), this show features a guest appearance by acclaimed banjo player Bela Fleck to kick off the second set with a fiery rendition of "Midnight Moonlight" and an otherworldly adventure on the Jimmy Cliff classic, "The Harder They Come."

The Jerry Garcia Band made use of their home turf in 1990, performing throughout the Bay Area an astounding 19 times in that year, including multiple runs at their adopted home of the Warfield Theatre. Jerry and the band, including longtime cohort John Kahn on bass, Melvin Seals on organ and David Kemper on drums, as well as "The Girls," Jaclyn LaBranch and Gloria Jones on backing vocals, stretched out in the summer sun on this early August afternoon show. Highlights, beside the obvious fireworks created on stage with Fleck, include a lilting "Stop That Train" and a bouncy "My Sisters and Brothers." But on this day, Garcia clearly had the Bard on his mind, lending his deft touch and heart wrenching vocals to Dylan chestnuts "Forever Young" and "Tears of Rage" before sending the crowd home with a bounce in their step after a mesmerizing "Tangled Up in Blue" show closer. Once again, this performance cements Dylan's own sentiments that nobody had a touch with his songs quite like Garcia.

Track List:
Disc One:
1. How Sweet it Is (To Be Loved By You)
2. Stop That Train
3. Forever Young
4. Run For the Roses
5. That's What Love Will Make You Do
6. My Sisters and Brothers
7. Tears of Rage
8. Deal

Disc Two:
1. Midnight Moonlight*
2. The Harder They Come*
3. And It Stoned Me
4. Waiting for a Miracle
5. Evangeline
6. Think
7. That Lucky Old Sun
8. Tangles Up in Blue

* w/Bela Fleck on bango

Release date 06.11.2013