Lettuce - Fly CD

Modern day rulers of old school funk, the seven-piece Brooklyn-based juggernaut Lettuce drops their third studio album, Fly, a decidedly raging slab of relentless groove, hyper-charged syncopation and psychedelicized soul anthems. Having blown up stages from coast to coast in 2011, ranging from The Fillmore in San Francisco to Terminal 5 in NYC, Bear Creek Music Festival to Camp Bisco and all points in between, Lettuce entered Brooklyn recording studio The Bunker this winter with a fresh batch of road-tested material and a revitalized sound honed razor sharp by a year spent on the road.

Bassist Erick 'Jesus' Coomes and drummer Adam Deitch dig a pocket so deep it risks getting up in China's bizness. Guitarists Eric Krasno and Adam 'Shmeeans' Smirnoff weave electrified six-string rhythms that summon the magic of The JBs' Catfish Collins/Hearlon 'Cheese' Martin dual guitar frontline. Keyboardist Neal 'The Hawk' Evans doubles up the low end as he simultaneously floats and stings with jabs of Rhodes and Clavinet that would make Ali proud. Riding along in lockstep is saxophonist Ryan 'Zwad' Zoidis and trumpeter Rashawn Ross punctuating the Lettuce funk with blasts of big, bold, infectious horn lines.

As Fly unfolds, tracks like "Lettsanity," "Jack Flask" and "Play" prove pure dance-floor grenades, while "Ziggowatt" and "Bowler" are grittier and greasier with Memphis and New Orleans running deep in their DNA. Additional highlights include a deft reworking of War's classic "Slippin' Into Darkness" and guest vocalist Nigel Hall jumps onboard for the rousing soul rave-up "Do It Like You Do."

Track List:
1. Fly
2. Lettsanity
3. Ziggowatt
4. Madison Square
5. Bowler
6. Jack Flask
7. Do It Like You Do
8. Play
9. Let It GoGo
10. Slippin' Into Darkness
11. The Crusher
12. Ghost of Jupiter
13. Monorail 3000 (bonus track)

Release date 06/05/2012

You May Also Like