The Waybacks - From The Pasture To The Future CD

Few bands have produced instrumental virtuosos who can follow the lead of newgrass icons like Sam Bush, Tony Rice and David Grisman...The Waybacks, on the other hand, feature hot pickers who are destined to become revered new-acousticians, thanks to their individual solo styles and the band's novel and irreverent tenor. - Acoustic Guitar

"A near-ideal balance of irreverence, chops, discipline, and originality." - Chicago Tribune

"The musical maelstrom known as the Waybacks blew in from San Francisco, sending up such a startling tornado of aggressively performed, high-spirited melodies as to remove all air from the room." - The Washington Post

Possessing dazzling instrumental chops and an absolute mastery of acoustic musical styles, The Waybacks are an eclectic quintet steeped in an array of Americana idioms. Whether mesmerizing audiences at intimate venues or creating a sensation at major festivals, the band has brought its onstage alchemy to enthusiastic fans far and wide. On From the Pasture to the Future, the band has captured that aesthetically pleasing mix while adding a bit of spit and polish courtesy of esteemed producer Lloyd Maines. Follow The Waybacks on their their collective muse through a landscape littered with driving, melody-laden rock ("Petrified Man"), an elegant fiddle waltz ("Bluebird Waltz"), a Kinks cover reinvented with New Orleans second line inflections ("Motorway"), and a jazz-tinged rumba (Chick Corea's "Armando's Rhumba"). Stevie Coyle (rhythm and fingerstyle guitar, vocals), James Nash (lead guitar, mandolin, vocals), Joe Kyle Jr. (double-bass, vocals), Chuck Hamilton (drums, percussion) and Warren Hood's (fiddle, vocals) diverse musical backgrounds, aptitude and dexterity has endured them to college audiences and seasoned listeners alike. Eclectic in both their influences and approach, The Waybacks put their unique stamp on this batch of tunes, rendering them with turn-on-a-dime precision, characteristic charm, wit, and virtuosity.

Track Listing:

1. The Petrified Man mp3
2. From The Pasture To The Future mp3
3. Helping Me mp3
4. Bluebird Waltz mp3
5. Motorway mp3
6. Hot Kranski mp3
7. Ninety-One mp3
8. Armando's Rhumba mp3
9. The Blacksmith mp3
10. Monkey Pants mp3
11. Strange Attractor mp3

Released April 25, 2006