Van Halen - Osaka 1979 CD


Formed in Pasadena, California in 1972, Van Halen were credited with "restoring hard rock to the forefront of the music industry." Known for its energetic live shows and for the work of its acclaimed lead guitarist, Eddie Van Halen, the band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2007. From 1974 until 1985, Van Halen consisted of Eddie Van Halen; Eddie's brother, drummer Alex Van Halen; vocalist David Lee Roth; and bassist Michael Anthony. Upon its release, the band's self-titled debut album reached No. 19 on the Billboard pop music charts. By the early 1980s, Van Halen was one of the most successful rock acts of all time. Upon its release, Van Halen reached No. 19 on the Billboard pop music charts, one of rock's most commercially successful debuts. It was highly regarded as both a heavy metal and hard rock album. The band returned to the studio in late 1978 to record Van Halen II, a 1979 album similar in style to their debut. This record yielded the band's first hit single, 'Dance the Night Away'. On March 26th 1979 Halen began their mammoth 'World Vacation Tour' which ran for eight months across North America, Europe and Japan and featured classic gig after classic gig, turning the band from second league rockers to a top-drawer act in a number of months. Already hugely popular in Japan before the tour began, Van Halen played seven nights there in early-to-mid September, performing a show in each of Nagoya, Kyoto, Fukuoka, Tokyo and Kurashiki, and two shows - on September 10 and 11th - in Osaka. The second night Halen played in Osaka - at the Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium - the concert was recorded for live FM broadcast, on both TV and Radio, and remains perhaps the finest performance the band gave on the entire tour. Previously unreleased, this stunning show is now available on this new CD for the first time, allowing all fans to finally hear Van Halen's best concert from their stunning 1979 tour.

Track Listing

Light Up The Sky

Somebody Get Me A Doctor

Drum Solo

Runnin' With The Devil

Dance The Night Away

Beautiful Girls

On Fire

Bass Solo

You're No Good

Jamie's Cryin'

Osaka Gypsy Woman Blues

Feel Your Love Tonight

Outta Love Again

Ice Cream Man

Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love

Spanish Fly/Eruption

You Really Got Me

Bottoms Up

Atomic Punk

Release date 11.6.20