Vusi Mahlasela - The Voice CD

Growing up in Mamelodi, a cradle of creativity that has produced a number of noted poets, writers, artists & musicians, the young Vusi began to teach himself to play on a homemade guitar, a remarkable instrument made of tin cans and fishing line. Vusi can't remember a time when he wasn't singing ("I'm sure I learned to sing before I could talk") and was a seasoned performer by the age of seventeen. He soon discovered that he had a flair for composition and began to write his own music and lyrics. From the outset, Vusi's songs addressed themes of political and social significance.

An accomplished guitarist, percussionist, composer, arranger, band leader and performer, Vusi now enjoys an ever-growing following that spans worldwide. Among his most ardent supporters is Dave Matthews, who is a native of South Africa and has long aimed to make Vusi's music known in the U.S. In fact, when Matthews founded ATO Records in 1998, one of his foremost goals was to sign Vusi to the label. The Voice is a handpicked collection that spans Vusi's recordings from 1991 - 2001.

"He was a voice during the revolution...a voice of hope, the Woody Guthrie or Bob Dylan of South Africa, and still is." - Dave Matthews

"Vusi's voice is one of the finest to emerge from Africa in the late 20th Century." - Roger Steffens

"Vusi's music is here to stir and delight us. He is a national treasure." - Nadine Gordimer

1. Melodi Ya Mamelodi mp3
2. Silang Mabele mp3
3. When You Come Back mp3
4. Weeping mp3
5. Sleep Tight Margaret mp3
6. Red Song mp3
7. Troubadour mp3
8. Emtini Wababe mp3
9. Fountain mp3
10. Untitled
11. Mma Modiane
12. Loneliness
13. Ntate Mahlasela
14. A Prayer For Our Time

Released July 2003

You May Also Like