Levon Helm - Ramble at the Ryman DVD


On September 17, 2008, the legendary Levon Helm took his beloved Midnight Ramble on the road to one of America's treasured music venues, Nashville's historic Ryman Auditorium. Accompanied by such stellar players like Buddy Miller, John Hiatt, Sheryl Crow, George Receli, Sam Bush and Billy Bob Thornton, the Levon Helm Band created an unforgettable night of stage magic.

The collections features the Levon Helm Band in a musical tour through the American songbook, performing classics from Helm's time with The Band, as well as song's from his Grammy winning release Dirt Farmer and tunes from other artists such as Chuck Berry, the Carter Family and more.

Ramble at the Ryman came on the heels of Dirt Farmer's stunning debut which won a Grammy in 2008 for Best Traditional Folk Album and landed Helm a spot in Rolling Stone's The 100 Greatest Singers of All Time. That same year Helm was also recognized by the Recording Academy with a lifetime achievement award as an original member of The Band and was given the "Artist of the Year" Award by the Americana Music Association.

The May release of Ramble at the Ryman coincides with the commemoration of Levon Helm Day on May 20. Established in the House of Representatives by the Honorable Maurice D. Hinchey in May 2006, Mr. Hinchey declared "It is because of this great man, and the great music he produces that the Village of Woodstock, New York, has declared May 20th as Levon Helm Day. It continues to be an honor and a great pleasure for so many of us in New York and across America to bear witness to the incredible career and life of this very strong, extremely talented and generous man. I look forward to many more Midnight Rambles."

The Levon Helm Band continues to play to sold out crowds at his weekly 'Midnight Ramble' concerts on his homestead in Woodstock, NY. Since 2004, a who's who of artists and fans from around the world gather to share the stage and join in a celebration of this musical icon.

In this release, The Levon Helm band includes: Levon Helm, Larry Campbell, Amy Helm, Teresa Williams, Brian Mitchell, Erik Lawrence, Clark Gayton, Jay Collins, Steven Bernstein, Paul Ossola, Tony Leone and Sammy Davis.

Track Listing includes:

"Back to Memphis
"Fannie Mae"
"Baby Scratch My Back"
"No Depression in Heaven"
"Wide River to Cross"
"Deep Elem Blues"
"Rag Mama Rag"
"Time Out for the Blues"
"The Shape I'm In"
"The Weight"

Release date 05.17.2011