Weather Report - Forecast: Tomorrow (3 CDs/1 DVD Box Set)


Wayne Shorter and Joe Zawinul took a bold collective step when, in 1970, they left their prestigious respective positions as saxophonist-principle composer with the innovative Miles Davis quintet and keyboardist-principle composer with the popular Cannonball Adderley quintet to form Weather Report. Winds of change were very much in the air then, as jazz, thanks in great part to Davis' expanded band and the Gary Burton quartet, was beginning to plug into the rock 'n' soul currents of, among others, Jimi Hendrix, James Brown, and Sly Stone. From 1970 until finally dissolving in 1985, Weather Report went through a number of significant changes, and a host of talented sidemen to help implement them. The thirty-seven selections (two previously unreleased, including an extended live version of "Mysterious Traveller") in this three-CD set comprise the perfect overview of one of the most consistently challenging and inventive ensembles of the past four decades.

In addition to the two aforementioned previously unissued tracks, this package offers a stunning new discovery: a in-concert DVD filmed in Germany running more than two hours that captures the group, with the late, inimitable Jaco Pastorius on electric bass, at their zenith.

Disc: 1
1. In a Silent Way
2. Super Nova
3. Experience in E [Excerpt]
4. Milky Way
5. Tears
6. Eurydice [Full Version]
7. Orange Lady
8. Unknown Soldier
9. Directions [Take 1][#]
10. Surucucu
11. Second Sunday in August
12. 125th Street Congress

Disc: 2
1. Nubian Sundance [Live][#]
2. Blackthorn Rose
3. Badia
4. Cannon Ball
5. Black Market
6. Three Clowns
7. Havona
8. Birdland
9. Palladium
10. Pursuit of the Woman with the Feathered Hat
11. Orphan
12. Sightseeing

Disc: 3
1. Dream Clock
2. Three Views of a Secret
3. Port of Entry [Live]
4. Dara Factor Two
5. Procession
6. Plaza Real
7. Well
8. D-Flat Waltz
9. Domino Theory
10. Predator
11. Face on the Barroom Floor
12. Indiscretions
13. 125th Street Congress [DJ Logic Remix]

DVD - Live In Germany, Sept. 28, 1978
1. Black Market
2. Scarlet Woman
3. Young and Fine
4. Pursuit of the Woman with the Feathered Hat
5. Remark You Made
6. River People
7. Thanks for the Memories
8. Delores/Portrait of Tracy/Third Stone from the Sun
9. Mr. Gone
10. In a Silent Way
11. Waterfall
12. Teen Town
13. I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good/The Midnight Sun Will Never Set on You
14. Birdland
15. Introductions
16. Fred & Jack
17. Elegant People
18. Badia

Released Sept. 19, 2006