Sufjan Stevens - Michigan CD

While Sufjan Stevens may never actually release an album for every state in the U.S. (would Rhode Island be an EP?), we can all benefit from his efforts. Sure, most of the content is based on his personal experiences, and not on a history book, but that's where his genius shows. Sufjan is a master of relating personal thoughts and emotions and filling his songs with as many instruments as there are human feelings, and on Michigan we get a taste of simply how broad the man's musical and sociological scope is. Alternately hilarious and heart-wrenching, the songs convey a wide range of emotions, from the despair of Flint's unemployment issues to the grandeur of the Great Lake State's natural beauty. Backing up his narratives with oceans of horns, strings, whistles, percussion, and vocal harmonies, Sufjan gives Michigan an epic, cinematic feel.

1. Flint (For The Unemployed And Underpaid) mp3
2. All Good Naysayers, Speak Up! Or Forever Hold Your Peace! mp3
3. For The Windows In Paradise, For The Fatherless In Ypsilanti mp3
4. Say Yes! To M!ch!gan! mp3
5. The Upper Peninsula mp3
6. Tahquamenon Falls mp3
7. Holland mp3
8. Detroit, Lift Up Your Weary Head! (Rebuild! Restore! Reconsider!) mp3
9. Romulus mp3
10. Alanson, Crooked River mp3
11. Sleeping Bear, Sault Saint Marie mp3
12. They Also Mourn Who Do Not Wear Black (For The Homeless In Muskegon) mp3
13. Oh God, Where Are You Now? (In Pickeral Lake? Pigeon? Marquette? Mackinaw?) mp3
14. Redford (For Yia-Yia & Pappou) mp3
15. Vito's Ordination Song mp3

Released 2003