The Hip Abduction - self titled CD


The Hip Abduction mixes reggae, rock, and African traditions to create their own unique sound. With heavy emphasis placed on African stringed instruments (kora, ngoni), dub-reggae-inspired bass lines, and funky afro-beat percussion, the band's high-energy performances have won them a loyal statewide following. Formed on the gulf coast of Florida in 2009, The Hip Abduction has quickly grown from just a few African instrument playing surfers to a full-blown 7-piece reggae powerhouse.

The sophomore album produced by Michael Goldwasser (The Green, Matisyahu) finds The Hip Abduction crafting a solid American reggae album, along with the vintage-hued Afrobeat with tight brass, brawny elastic low-end grooves, and percussive-fueled rhythms.

Voted by HGMN's Staff as the 2013 Studio Album of the Year!

Track List:
1. Children of the Sun listen
2. Live it Right listen
3. Hideaway (featuring Anthony B) listen
4. All Eyes listen
5. Holiday listen
6. Breathless listen
7. La Resaca listen
8. Golden Sky listen
9. Walk Away listen
10. Why Say One listen
11. Elena listen
12. Kalapani listen

Release date 12.03.2013