Urban Soil - Dig Deeper CD


Urban Soil's complex Americana flavors are on full display with their debut album "Dig Deeper".  Recorded at Bongo John Studio in Morrisville NC and released in the summer of 2014, Dig Deeper shows the versatility and depth of the band.  Producer and engineer "Bongo" John Metcalf not only shows his expertise in the control room, he also performs on percussion throughout the album.  From the warm acoustic tones of the opening track, "The One Who Lost the Love", the listener is aurally invited into the sonic space.  Lead singer and songwriter Sarah Reinke's "Cultures Collide" is almost a microcosm of the band's overall sound and approach; melding and bending genres to find oneness and a sound all their own.  "Cultures" also features a guest performance by Leo Kishore on bass guitar.  The title track "Dig Deeper" expands the album into the rock side of the band's sound with a lyrical theme centered on the importance of family.  The next four tracks represent songs from frontman Eric Chesson's catalog of songwriting.  The Allman Brothers-esque intro jam of "Mr. Coconuts" is a southern rock guitar explosion and "Natural" showcases the band easily transitioning to a country rock feel.  The final two tracks again represent Urban Soil's ability to take their high energy sound and translate it into acoustic landscapes.   Each track of Dig Deeper has its own flavor and genre slant, yet the album retains a cohesive sound from start to finish. 

Cover art and design by Kyra Platt

Track Listing:

1. The One Who Lost the Love listen
2. Cultures Collide listen
3. Dig Deeper listen
4. Mr. Coconuts listen
5. Answer Man listen
6. Natural listen
7. Clown Glass listen
8. Way Back Home listen
9. Mountain Song listen

Release Date - 8/16/14