Soulive - Up Here CD

Recorded in Alan's new studio in South Deerfield, Mass in the fall of 2008. "This is the Soulive album I've always wanted to record - it's what I've been hearing in my head for years," says Alan, who also tracked and mixed the record. "It's like when people say 'if I could go back in time knowing what I know now.' Well, that's what we did with Up Here. The session had the vibe and energy of Get Down but with all of our experiences from the past 10 years put down on tape in a very meaningful way. "

The record's opening track "Upright" immediately sets the tone with a completely infectious hook featuring Neal on an old upright piano. There are some nods to the "old-school" on the record. "For Granted" is a tip of the hat to Grant Green, and Eric plays licks reminiscent of his early solos on Get Down and Turn It Out. Guest vocalist Nigel Hall tears it up on "Too Much" while Eric's guitar sings like D'Angelo on the laid-back grind of "Put on Yo Pajamas." The entire record features tight horn arrangements from long-time Soulive collaborators and friends, Sam Kininger and Ryan Zoidis.

No matter how you listen to Up Here, it sounds like you're listening to vintage vinyl. One of the most difficult things about making a record with a great live band is capturing all that live energy while still making the record that's about songs. Up Here does as good a job as any record could in accomplishing this. "Straight up," says Alan, "this is the first Soulive album that I can say every tune on it is my favorite on the album."

Track List:
1. Up Right listen
2. Swamp listen
3. Too Much listen
4. Backwards Jack listen
5. Pj's listen
6. Tonight listen
7. Hat Trick listen
8. For Granted listen
9. Prototype listen

Disc: 2
1. Live at Blue Note Tokyo [DVD][Live]

Release date 07.07.2009